Mining Qualifications Authority (MQA) Bursary South Africa 2024-2025

Mining Qualifications Authority (MQA) Bursary South Africa 2024-2025


The Mining Qualifications Authority (MQA) are responsible for the skills development in the minerals and mining sector of South Africa. The Mining Qualifications Authority bursary programme was developed as a way to increase the amount of students studying towards and starting careers within the minerals and mining field.


The bursary award will cover the following expenses: tuition fees, registration fees, accommodation, food and a textbook and stationary allowance. Students will be selected based on the fields of study in the scarce/ critical skills list of South Africa.
Bursaries will be awarded within the following fields of study:
Universities or Universities of Technology qualifications

  • Analytical Chemistry
  • Chemical Engineering (mineral processing)
  • Electrical Engineering (heavy current)
  • Electro-Mechanical Engineering
  • Environmental Health and Management
  • Geology
  • Industrial Engineering
  • Jewellery Design and Manufacturing
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Metallurgical Engineering (extractive)
  • Mine Survey
  • Mining Engineering
  • Mining Survey
  • *as well as any BTech qualification related to the above

TVET College qualifications

  • Boilermaker
  • Diesel Mechanic
  • Electrician
  • Fitter and Turner
  • Fitting (incl Machinery)
  • Instrumentation Mechanic
  • Millwright
  • Rigger Ropesman
SEE ALSO:  How to Get a Divorce in Namibia



Please ensure that you meet the following criteria before submitting your application:

  • South African citizen
  • 35 years old or younger
  • Strong academic record (especially in Mathematics and Science)
  • NOT currently employed
  • In need of financial assistance
  • Completed Matric or currently in Matric
  • Enrolled and accepted to study in one of the aforementioned fields at a University/ University of Technology/ TVET College
  • Show a genuine interest in the minerals and mining sector

* Preference will be given to disabled, female applicants and those living in rural communities.


Download and complete one of the following application forms:
New applicants: MQA Bursary Application Form (pdf)
Current MQA bursary recipients: MQA Bursary Application Form (pdf)
Please include the following documents with your application form:
New applicants:

  • ID document (certified copy),
  • ID document of parents/ guardians (certified copy),
  • Death certificate of parents if deceased (certified copy),
  • Affidavit if not in contact with parents,
  • Current Matric applicants: latest Matric results,
  • Matric certificate (certified copy) if available,
  • Current tertiary students: latest academic record or transcript on the official letterhead or logo,
  • Confirmation of registration/ acceptance letter from tertiary institution,
  • Payslips from parents or guardians less than 3 months old,
  • Affidavit if parent or guardian is unemployed.
SEE ALSO:  How Does Animistic World View Contribute To Poverty In Namibia


  • ID document (certified copy),
  • Full Academic Record (including current year) stamped by your tertiary institution and on the official letterhead,
  • Latest bank statements (stamped).

Note: shortlisted students currently in Matric must submit their Matric certificate (certified copy) by 13 January 2018.
Application forms and supporting documentation must be submitted in one of the following ways:
1) To an MQA Office:
– Eastern Cape: King Sabatha Dalindyebo TVET College, R61 Queenstown Road, Cicira Village, Mthatha
– Free State: Goldfields TVET College, 14107 Ndaki Road, Tosa Campus, Thabong
– Gauteng: 7 Anerley Road, Block C, Parktown, 2193 / Private Bag X118, Marshalltown, 2107
– Mpumalanga: Nkangala TVET College, Mpondozamkomo Campus, 1 Moses Kotane Drive, Ferrobank
– Limpopo: Sekhukhune TVET College, CN Phathudi Campus, Stand No. 2659, Praktiseer
– Northern Cape: Northern Cape Rural TVET College, Kathu Campus, Hans Coetzee Drive
– North West: Orbit TVET College, Mankwe Campus, Stand 230, Unit 2, Mogwase

2) To your tertiary institution (as listed below)
– Cape Peninsula University of Technology: Office 5.1 Administration Building, Cape Town Campus (Contact person: Ms Siphokazi Mthyobile)
– Mangosuthu University of Technology: Financial Aid Office (Contact person: Ms Cynthia Nkosi)
– Nelson Mandela University: Financial Aid Counters, North Campus (Contact person: Ms Buyiswa Yaya)
– University of Fort Hare: Financial Aid Office (Alice Campus) (Contact person: Ms Mandisa Mlilo)
– University of Cape Town: Fees Office, Kramer Building, Middle Campus (Contact person: Ms Noluvuyo Capsana)
– University of Stellenbosch: Undergraduate Bursaries and Loans Office, Admin A, Main Campus (Contact person: Ms Kaliie Sauls)
– University of Western Cape: Financial Aid Office (Contact person: Ms Genevieve Fisher)

SEE ALSO:  Old Mutual Bursaries 2024-2025


16 October 2017.


For bursary related enquiries, please contact:
MQA Offices
Eastern Cape branch – Tel: 047 505 1063
Free State branch – Tel: 087 095 0266
Gauteng branch – Tel: 011 547 2600
Limpopo branch – Tel: 087 095 0267
Mpumalanga branch – Tel: 013 696 8120 / 013 696 8121
Northern Cape branch – Tel: 053 723 0100
North West branch – Tel: 014 555 8860

 Learnerships : Bursaries :

Leave a Comment